I am so thrilled that I can finally share this news: I have an AGENT!

tumblr_ldvczbOXxu1qzjix8

Say hello to Stacey Donaghy of the Donaghy Literary Group

Stacey reached out to me after she’d read my #NoQS entry. (That’s right. I’m a contest success story!)

The week after NoQS was insane. Once I’d notified my list of Stacey’s offer, several agents stepped up wanting to read the full. By the end of the week, I had 5 offers on the table. I don’t say this to brag. I want express to those in the query trenches how important it is to find the right agent.

That first call with Stacey lasted over an hour. Of course we talked about the manuscript I’d pitched, her ideas for revisions, and what working with her would be like. But we also talked about my goals, what kind of writing career I wanted to have, what else was I working on, and where were we going to go after THE STOLEN GIRL series was finished. We also talked about our families, our kids, our mutual hate for home remodeling and renovations (see, we already have inside jokes!)

They compare an agent/author relationship to a marriage, and I agree. Yes, you also need to look at it as a business arrangement — all that PublisherMarketplace data is extremely important (bite the bullet & get an account). Beyond that, you need an agent that is going to be a cheerleader for your work, someone you feel comfortable picking up the phone and talking to. Allegedly, the submission trenches aren’t a pretty place. If our previous conversations are any indication, Stacey and I are going to laugh our way through it.

I’m super excited about working with Stacey and her team. She’s got some great ideas for THE STOLEN GIRL series, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. Stay Tuned!